Create a course

A course is a type of training that can be comprised of multiple lectures, events, on-the-job training, and/or polls. Based on how you set them up you can have different course functionalities to fit your needs.

Users with admin rights, training managers, and users with the create course permission enabled can create courses in their academy.

Note:
Training managers should be given permissions via the academy settings to create Courses.

Create a course

Navigation: UKG Learning > Academy Workspace > Training Admin > Manage Training > Courses 

  1. Select the Create Course button. You are redirected to the Edit Course page to set up your Course.
  2. Give your course a Title, a Description and select the Ownership of the course: you or your academy.
  3. (Optional) Add any system requirements or course tags.
  4. Select one or more training categories or subcategories, or select Without Category. You can save a course in multiple categories or subcategories to provide access to multiple audiences. 
  5. Select a Level and a Language for your Course.
    Note:
    The default language is English. 
  6. (Optional) Add an estimated duration for your course in order to give users an estimated amount of time to complete the course. This field will be displayed on the course's About page.
    Note:
    When an Admin or Manager marks a course or learning path as completed, the courses' completion time will be prefilled and saved with the course estimated duration, if any.

    If your organization uses an external records tool, such as an HRIS, add the course external ID. Learning paths use the associated course times to determine their length.
  7. Select if you want this course to award a Certificate upon completion.
    1. (Optional) Define the certificate expiration settings. Certificate expiration can be based on a rolling period from the enrollment or completion date, or on a set date each year. If you set the course to be reassigned before expiration, the Certificate Expiration Shift Period must be longer than the Reassignment Period.
    2. (Optional) Select the appropriate checkbox to show Estimated Duration, Total time Spent, and the instructor's name on the course certificate. 
  8. Choose how users can access lectures after completing the course. Select View lectures after completion without retaking the course to let users view lectures again without retaking the course. Select Retake is required to view lectures to require users to retake the course before viewing lectures. This option enables the self-retake options for users.
  9. Select Yes for the Lock course if user misses the due date setting to prevent users from making additional progress after the due date. The course can be unlocked, but approval is required. Select No to allow users to make progress after the due date. This is the default setting.
    In case a course has been locked for a user, you, as an admin or manager will be able to identify the course by the "Locked" indication next to the course title in the employees' dashboard.
    Note:
    Changing this setting does not work retroactively.
  10. Fill in any Custom Attributes you may have for your course and select if they will be displayed on the users' certificates. Only one custom attribute can be added to any certificate.
  11. If the course is required for your organization for compliance purposes, turn on the compliance course setting. Courses are not compliance courses by default.
  12. Select if users will have the option to review and rate your course. This is a public component that lets learners rate and provide feedback about the course.
    Note: 
    Admins are able to delete individual ratings and reviews from a course in order to avoid having inappropriate user-generated content. Reviews from deactivated users remain after they are deactivated.
  13. Select if your course will have a discussion board. This setting appears only if your academy has enabled Discussion boards in courses. By default, it is set to No. Select Yes to let learners and instructors post and reply in the course's lecture and general discussions. Select No to keep the discussion board off for this course.
  14. Choose whether to show the system Next and Back buttons at the bottom of the page. If an imported course, such as a SCORM course, already includes navigation buttons, you can turn off the system buttons.
  15. Select if any of your academy members will need approval in order to self-enroll in this course. Activate the Self-Enrollment Approval setting and select the organizational criteria these users meet.
  16.  Choose if the course progress should remain unaffected if the course is a part of one or more learning paths. If a learning path is reassigned, the learner does not need to complete the course again. If the course itself is reassigned, its progress resets and the learner must complete it again.
  17. Select Copyright to assign the course, edits, and updates to the course creator or owner. Creative Commons allows others to edit the course and is not recommended for most audiences. Add administrative notes for other administrators to reference later.
  18. (Optional) Add credits to your course if your admin has set them up for your academy.
    1. Select the credit type
    2. Add the number of credits the users should receive upon the course completion
    3. Check the box if these credits should be visible on users' certificates.  
  19. Select Save.

Add content and lectures

Once saved, your course will be created. Content and lectures can be added before publishing it for employees. See the Add Lectures to a Course help topic.

Publish your course

By default, your course is in private and assign-only mode. To make it visible to your employees or to both employees and external members, select the appropriate options and switch the This course is private toggle to This course is public. 

Note: 
The set of courses that is available to users is primarily defined by the categories to which they have access. If a course is public but in a category that your users do not have access to, they cannot see the course unless they are assigned to it. 

Your course needs at least one visible, required step to be published.

private mode.jpg
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful